Solar confusion

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zenreaver

Reaction score
First, let me get this out of the way. I'm a stroke survivor with brain damage. I have issues with numbers, and memory. Arguably, the bigger issue, is that I'm also very limited on the amount of time I'm able to spend online in a day. If I'm in front of a screen/monitor for too long, I end up with a migraine. Some days, I get zero time. Others, a few minutes. I'm very lucky if I get 2 hours a day. I HAD a plan, but then life happened.

Previous plan:
I've been doing as much research as I'm able to for almost 2 years now, and was all set to get a hybrid Rav4 in a couple months, then hit the road Feb. 1st. Now, I find myself with a Chevy Express 2500 passenger van, and pressed for time. I'm hoping to be on the road in just under 2 weeks! (I could stay here longer if I'm still installing things, but it is not an ideal situation) I'm expecting to be part-time in the van for the next 2 years. (give or take 6mo)

Since the Rav4 was a hybrid, I had really been focusing on size/weight of items, and was just going to go with a lithium solar generator and a single 100w panel. Now, I find myself with plenty of room, and no real weight or size restrictions. After being in a Suburban and then a motorcycle, this van is Huge! Pretty much everything I need, I already have figured out.. except for Solar/Battery system.

Again, I have brain damage, but I'll attempt to explain what I want. If anything isn't clear, let me know, and I'll do my best to clear things up. I have so many tabs open trying to figure this out, I thought I'd just ask for help.

As far as budget goes. I'd prefer to keep things under $1000. More than that, and I'm pushing my budget. (I could buy the 2nd battery in a couple months if I have to spend more)

I've done my power audit, and the best I can tell..
Wants: